4-Ingredient Lotion Bars

lotion barsIn 2014, How Wee Learn posted Calming Lavender Lotion Bar, and the three-ingredient part lured me in. I tried the recipe a while back and am finally sharing how it went. I should mention that I have never made any kind of lotion before!

The recipe calls for equal parts of beeswax and coconut oil. The more beeswax you add, the harder the bar will turn out. I didn’t want my lotion bars to melt, so I tried this:

  • 1 cup grated Beeswax
  • 3/4 cup Coconut Oil
  • Dried lavender
  • Supplies: double boiler, something to stir wax with, and a silicone mold

Note: I also modified the recipe by adding several drops of lavender essential oil (after removing it from the heat.)

lotion

 

 

 

 

Directions: Melt grated beeswax in a double boiler, remove it from the heat, and add the coconut oil. If you don’t have a double boiler, place everything inside a heat-safe pyrex container, and heat the container up in boiling water. When everything is melted, sprinkle in a little dried lavender (this rubs off the bars and onto your skin, but it makes the bars look pretty, so you decide on that one!)

stovestovemeltstovemelted

 

 

 

Then pour it into a silicone mold and put it in the fridge for at least an hour.

poured

 

 

 

solid pair

 

 

 

They turned out beautiful looking and smelled very nice. This is a simple recipe for lotion. The bars are cool and soothing on the skin, and they leave you feeling moisturized. What I didn’t care for if I am being honest was how greasy they left my skin. I think next time I will try adding some shea butter and using more beeswax. I will replace the coconut oil with something else so I can compare the two oils. There is much experimentation to be done. I will let you know how it turns out!

I recommend trying the original recipe at the link shared at the to of this post. There are not a lot of ingredients, and it is a simple way to see what making your own lotion is all about. For me, it was an inexpensive way to explore my personal wax-to-oil ratio preferences in lotion-making.

square

Leave a Reply

